Home Difference Between ICD-9 and ICD-10

Difference Between ICD-9 and ICD-10

What is the difference between ICD-9 and ICD-10?

The implementation of ICD-10 CM/PCS signals an upgrade in the country’s current classification system. There are approximately 17,000 codes available for use with ICD-9 CM. The adoption of ICD-10 CM/PCS will make more than 155,000 codes available and will aid in the implementation of new codes as the evolution of medical technology and medical procedures continues. In effect, ICD-10 is more detailed than ICD-9.

ICD-9 CM (Diagnosis Codes) ICD-10 CM (Diagnosis   Codes)
Consists of 3-5 digits Consists of 3-7 characters
First digit is alpha or numeric (E or V) First character is always alpha
Second-fifth digits are numeric Second character is numeric
Limited space for adding new codes Flexibility for adding new codes
Decimal placed after the first 3 digits Decimal placed after the third character
Alpha characters are not case sensitive Characters 3-7 can be alpha or numeric
17,000 codes Approximately 68,000 codes


ICD -9 CM Volume 3 (Procedure   Codes) ICD-10 PCS (Procedure  Codes)
ICD-9-CM has 3-4 digits.  A   decimal is placed after the 2nd digit. ICD-10 PCS has 7 characters and no decimals
All digits are numeric Each character can be alpha or numeric
Numbers 0-9; letters A-H, J-N, P-Z.    The letters I and O are not used to avoid confusion with one and zero.
All codes must have at least 3 digits Each code must have 7 characters
Generic body parts Detailed descriptions of body parts
3,000 codes 87,000 codes



Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.
We do not share your personal details with anyone.